Click Bait List! Like like like me!

Okay, the more I look back on my past entries, the more I feel some more facts about what books I liked and when, and of course how they changed me, could be awfully helpful to you. The colorful picks I’ve been making basically ensure it is your due. I told you why I wanted to do this blog, but didn’t give much else in the way of back story. I figure knowing what sort of books I’ll get around to writing sooner or later will give you some idea whether you’d want to stick around. I really, really hope you want to stick around.

So, keeping in mind that I certainly don’t want to write my whole memoir on this one  blog in one go, and you probably don’t want to read it either, I’ll keep it simple. To make sure I pander to as many people as possible, I’ve decided to do this in the internet’s favorite form, a click-bait list! I’ll lay down all these literary phases of my life, and maybe you’ll see one, laugh, and secretly feel less ashamed for that “Team Jacob” lower back tattoo you swore to forget. Okay. Here we go.

Maddie’s Life in Books

1. 0-5 yrs old: Most of these were picture books. Whatever had the best pictures or made my parents make the funniest noises when they read to me were my top preferences. I remember Goodnight Gorilla being a frequent request. I also liked flip-books, like the Spot series. Flaps and soft spots gave me something to grab at and try to destroy with my grubby little hands.

2. 5-10 yrs old: I can read myself now, thank you very much! The first book I remember as my own book I could read to myself was Benny’s Big Bubble. It was about a really big bubble, which popped. Some of the text’s subtleties escape me now, years later, but I remember being captivated by it. When I got old enough for those first “chapter” books that are like, 25 pages long as opposed to ten and had fewer pictures, I remember loving the Bailey School Kids series, which revolved a bunch of intrepid little attendants of Bailey Elementary school trying to prove every adult they met was a vampire, werewolf, or Santa Claus. This may or may not have reflected my hobbies and/or personal convictions of the time. I definitely also checked out most of the kid books on Aliens and the Loch Ness monster the kid’s non-fiction section of my local library had.

3. 11-12 yrs old: I was starting to dip my toe in the shallow end of the Young Adult section, very tentatively. I definitely started reading the Harry Potter Series in earnest by this point. I balanced this out with a love for cartoons, includign the aforementioned Peanuts and even Archie. Also, I had a thing for historical fiction too, possibly spurred by my discovery of the Dear America series and my American Girl doll Kit Kittredge’s, who would creep up to me as I slept and whisper of the things she’d had to do to live through the Great Depression. Nightmares of shanking hobos and living out of boxes frequented my nightmares featured heavily during this period.

4. 13-17 yrs old: Oh god. The teen years. I knew this was coming, but I just wasn’t ready for this. My obsession with…. T-t-t-t-twiglight… there, I admitted, swelled and then eventually receded during this period. I did get rather fond of the Paranormal Romance/ Adventure genre that I feel boomed to life in this era. I did, for the most part, prefer the Paranormal and Adventure to take precedence over the Romance, in my defense. They weren’t all vampires either… some of them were fairies and werewolves. Also, for some reason an intense love for John Green’s decidedly more realistic work snuck in there somehow. DFTBA Nerdfighters!

5. 18 yrs. old to present: Here I am now! Okay, while I will be fair and say I started reading Sandman and The Walking Dead in my later high school years, my love for the comic/ graphic novel genre. Sometimes I look at manga if it doesn’t look too scary. I’ve started to get into more compelling, cerebral crime dramas that don’t necessarily involve Bigfoot. Poetry has made a re-emergence in my life, and I’ve even started reading classic texts I hadn’t yet read in school for my own enjoyment. I’m talking a wide range too, like from the Tao Te Ching and stuff on philosophy to the funny stuff like A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. I still love all thing fantasy, sci-fi, and just plain eerily supernatural, as my love for Neil Gaiman, among others, demonstrates. I’m also still not above tales of giant bubbles foreshadowing our own fallibility and mortality as human beings with lots of pretty colors. Stay true to your roots, you know?

Alright, there you have it. A serviceable outline of my life and lit interests. Hopefully now you’re even more excited for what I’ve got coming up next. I am, and I don’t even know what it is yet. I promise to come clean about Twilight, talk about some classics, and dig up that bubble book if I can. Over and out!

One thought on “Click Bait List! Like like like me!

Leave a Reply

