Books for Your Dragons

Well,  it’s been almost a whole week since the season finale of Game of Thrones. Are you holding up alright? I could be better, I suppose. What are we supposed to do for our dragon fix during all these GOT free months? Lie around moaning in anguish? Sometimes, I feel like that’s my default response to a beloved show’s season ending. Really, though, it’s not a very practical one. This year, I’ve decided to jump off my fainting couch and do something about the sudden lack of dragons in my life. I’m going to find and train some dragons, using the knowledge I’ve gained from the best books I’ve read on the subject. If you guys are looking for a summer project, I recommend following in my footsteps.

Pick up a couple of dragons from, you know, wherever your local dragon breeding grounds are. I don’t need to insult your intelligence by describing how you should go about getting a real dragon, obviously. I’m off to get mine this Sunday during the hour long hole left in my schedule good old GOT.

Before you pick up your dragons though, pick up these books so you have some idea what to expect when you’re expecting to be a mother (or father) of dragons. These are the best I’ve selected from my own life-long research on subject.

The Dragons are Singing Tonight by Jack Prelutsky

This is one of the first texts on dragons I ever read. At first glance, it may appear to be a children’s book of poems about dragons, but you’d be wrong. It’s an amazing book of poems about dragons with beautiful illustrations, one I made my parents read to me again and again when I was younger. It has stories about all different sorts of dragons, from one dragon made out of spare parts by a bored kid to a nasty, nasty dragon that’s only a half inch tall. It is an excellent introductory text for people of all ages.

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

This series of volumes is exemplary for dragon caretakers as it depicts very carefully the life and work of several people that have lived with and trained a dragon from birth. I have mixed feelings about this series, because while I thought it was a pretty good fantasy read, the author supposedly started writing it when he was fourteen or fifteen years old. I was right around that age when I read those books, and had not even come close to getting a publishing deal for a giant fantasy series of my own invention, or writing one either. Still, they’re pretty good books, I guess. Sigh.

The Memoirs of Lady Trent Series by Marie Brennan

This is an interesting series, and a valuable one for future dragon trainers, as it attempts to get into the biology of dragons in a very interesting way. Lady Trent is a Charles Darwin figure of sorts in an alternate fantasy world very similar to our own Victorian era. She feels the current scientific understanding of dragons is woefully lacking and decides to travel the world, going on expeditions and making groundbreaking discoveries about many different species of dragons. It’s a bit different from the typical fantasy book about dragons, but that’s what makes it such a valuable addition to every dragon scholar’s library.

A Song Of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

What, did you really think I could make it through this list without mentioning the very series that’s driving this current ambition? Not a chance! If you’re only interested in dragon training and don’t have time to read the giant books in this series, stick to reading the chapters about Daenerys Targaryen, which provide an excellent case study examining how one new dragon owner can raise three baby dragons from hatchlings, a difficult feat even with experience. You can also learn how to utterly destroy your enemies with dragon fire, if that’s something your interested in.

These are the books that I’ll be referring back to the most when training my dragons, but I know that this list definitely doesn’t cover all the useful dragon books out there. Do you have some dragon-ology books you think I should look at when raising my dragons? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

